The Daniel Rosenboom Septet // Unsayable Absence


The Daniel Rosenboom Septet // Unsayable Absence


Unsayable Absence by The Daniel Rosenboom Septet
(ORENDA 005)

An exploration of cross-genre pollination over the backdrop of jazz; an experiment in stretching to the edge of the universe with one foot on the ground; a testament to the soul. Recorded live at Blue Whale in Downtown Los Angeles.

Unsayable Absence is currently only available in digital form.

Due to file-size restrictions, we can only offer MP3 format here. However, if you would prefer higher quality files (WAV, FLAC, etc.) please visit our Bandcamp Store.

Add To Cart

The phrase "Unsayable Absence" is taken from a Rumi poem entitled "Listening." This poem is appropriately inscribed on the ceiling of the Blue Whale directly above the stage. For me the "unsayable absence" is the space in one's heart that opens when ego is purged - a space where the energy of the universe can enter, grow, and ultimately transport one to a higher state of consciousness.

Daniel Rosenboom - Trumpet and Flugelhorn 
Gavin Templeton - Alto Saxophone and Flute 
Jon Armstrong - Tenor Saxophone and Clarinet 
Brian Walsh - Baritone Saxophone and Bass Clarinet 
Rory Cowal - Piano 
Hamilton Price - Bass 
Matt Mayhall - Drums 

"A musician dedicated to exploration and expression, regardless of anyone's imagined boundaries." 
— Chris Barton, Los Angeles Times 

"One of the most original, exciting, adventurous groups in L.A. right now." 
— Gary Fukushima, LA Weekly 

"Young trumpet dynamo Dan Rosenboom, one of the more interesting Los Angeleno players, impresses with the fluidity of his ideas..." 
— Josef Woodard, DownBeat Magazine 

“Daniel Rosenboom’s writing and the sound of the ensemble is unlike anything heard before. This is jazz for the 21st century.” 
— Scott Yanow, author of thousands of articles for the All Music Guide to Jazz


This album was recorded live at The Blue Whale on May 5th and June 20th, 2012 in Los Angeles, CA. 

Sound Engineered by Masa Tsuzuki 
Mixed and Mastered by Daniel Rosenboom 

Layout by Daniel Rosenboom 
Cover Art by Eron Rauch

All music composed and arranged by Daniel Rosenboom (ASCAP). 
All music © Daniel Rosenboom Music (ASCAP), 2013. 
All Rights Reserved.